Category: Instrumental

Imbaru – El Inherente Sentir en los Árboles

I am not one for conspiracies, but were I a betting man, I would not be surprised were I to find that Chile’s Imbaru consisted of one former member of Uaral. For background, Uaral was a Chilean doom/neo-folk duo that has essentially disappeared after their second and last release in 2007, Lamentos a Poema Muerto. Although I have no concrete evidence to corroborate my hypothesis, I find it safe to say that with the remarkably similar aesthetics, guitar style, and a swarm of posts on a Uaral fan-page that Imbaru is in fact that band’s spiritual successor. Whatever the truth may be, Imbaru is indeed a band that warrants attention in the neo-folk scene and a look into their fifth full-length, El Inherente Sentir en los Árboles. (more…)

Godspeed You! Black Emperor – Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress

Canada’s post-rock overlords Godspeed You! Black Emperor have returned with their fifth full-length album titled, Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress. This album is in many ways an entirely different beast than its predecessor, ‘Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend! Yet, fans of Godspeed’s general sound will find it very much familiar as it does not stray all that far from what is expected from this band. Godspeed’s lengthy cinematic brand of post-rock is still at the core of this release.



Jakob – Sines

Thus far, 2014 has been a strong year in terms of post-rock releases. Sines, the new album from New Zealand’s Jakob, finds itself among the leading albums in that category. It has been eight years since the release of Solace, yet this wait is definitely worth it. (more…)


Mono – The Last Dawn

In this year of 2014, Japan’s post-rock masters Mono have taken the bold step of releasing two albums simultaneously. These consist of The Last Dawn and Rays of Darkness—albums that the band has claimed would be stripped down of the orchestral nature of the previous several albums, which was a direction they believe reached its peak on 2011’s For My Parents. The Last Dawn is the first of these two new albums and is considered the lighter. (more…)


This Will Destroy You – Another Language

This Will Destroy You is yet another post-rock band, this time hailing from the United States, in particular the state of Texas. This Will Destroy You have returned with their much anticipated third full-length studio album called Another Language. This new album is very much a mix of the standard post-rock of their debut self-titled album, in the vein of such bands as Explosions in the Sky or Mogwai, and that of the ambient, noise post-rock of their sophomore Tunnel Blanket. (more…)


Maybeshewill – Fair Youth

Maybeshewill is among the plethora of post-rock bands that make up that over-saturated genre, albeit one of the better bands worth paying attention to. These post-rockers, or whatever genre they would prefer to be associated with, have returned with their fourth full-length album entitled Fair Youth. (more…)


Yossi Sassi – Desert Butterflies

Desert Butterflies is the second solo album from former Orphaned Land guitarist Yossi Sassi. He expands on the oriental rock/metal sound of Orphaned Land and ventures into all new directions. Desert Butterflies is a fine collection of mostly instrumental progressive rock songs in the style of a Joe Satriani, perhaps, with strong Middle Eastern undertones. (more…)


Conquering Dystopia – Conquering Dystopia

Conquering Dystopia is a band that seeks to conquer you. They are, in essence, a supergroup consisting of former Nevermore guitarist Jeff Loomis, Keith Merrow, The Faceless’ drummer Alex Rüdinger, and Cannibal Corpse’s bassist Alex Webster. I discovered this band as a result of following Keith Merrow’s solo work, which is in the home-produced djent metal style of bands like Cloudkicker. Conquering Dystopia is a relentless assault of technical metal that sounds like a more progressive and technical amalgamation of Jeff Loomis’ guitar playing meshed with Keith Merrow’s style, alongside blistering drums and bass by Alex Rüdinger and Alex Webster, respectively. Prelude to Obliteration (more…)


Jääportit – Voimasuo


Jääportit is a one-man ambient electronic project by Finland’s Tuomas M. Mäkelä. His most recent album Voimasuo takes you into icy crystalline worlds with synthesizers, violins, and other instruments. There is a bit of a psychedelic feel to the music, much like what one would expect if Pink Floyd set out to make icy electronic music—Ice Floyd, perhaps? Voimasuo opens with the ambiance of Tuulten Tuoja, which sets up the frozen atmosphere of the album before psychedelic electronic rhythms, accompanied by violins and drums pick up the tempo slightly. Suon Sulaessa has that subtle funky Pink Floyd-ish guitar and bass lines hiding under the layers of dark synthesizers. (more…)


My Brother the Wind – I Wash My Soul in the Stream of Infinity

My Brother the Wind is an improvisational band from Sweden consisting of members from Anekdoten’s Nicklas Barker, Makajodama’s Mathias Danielsson, and Magnolia’s Ronny Eriksson and Tomas Eriksson. I was impressed with their debut album Twilight in the Crystal Cabinet and surprised that such music could be improvised with such quality. Their second album I Wash My Soul in the Stream of Infinity proves that was not a fluke. This album continues with the improvised psychedelic progressive rock of its predecessor. The album opens with Fire! Fire!! This song slowly builds up with guitar pedal effects as a combination of psychedelic groovy bass and drums take the listener (more…)