Disturbed – Ten Thousand Fists

Disturbed holds a nostalgic place in my heart since their Believe album formed my musical foundation back in my high school days. Their third album, Ten Thousand Fists, also holds a special place. Both Believe and Ten Thousand Fists represent Disturbed’s finest hour as future albums were incapable of expanding their sound further. Ten Thousand Fists opens with the pseudo-Middle Eastern rhythms of the title track and later tribal-esque drums accompanied by David Draiman’s trademark vocal delivery. Next comes Just Stop, which was overplayed on the radio back in the day when I still wasted my time listening to the radio. It is a fast-paced song with some nice drums and guitar work, but the lyrics are a tad juvenile. Guarded is another hard driving song with some great drums and guitar riffing. This song has some nice changes in tempo that demonstrate Draiman’s vocal range, particularly on the bridge section. Deify is another great song, and one of Disturbed’s best, that opens with a sample of former US President George Dubya Bush—what was ‘Merica thinking?—and later explodes with powerful guitars, drums, and excellent vocals by Draiman. The bridge section is also quite powerful as Draiman harmonizes with himself. I’m Alive is another song with lots of power, particularly in the vocals. Stricken is another standard Disturbed song that is pretty good and has a decent solo. Dan Donegan finally felt compelled to do solos in this band, which was a welcome sight. Overburdened is another great song—again, one of Disturbed’s best—that begins slowly with a dark introduction as a majestic guitar melody builds. Keyboards greatly augment the epic atmosphere of this song and Draiman makes use of solid melodic vocals. In addition, Donegan puts out a stellar solo. The only drawback to this song, as well as several others, is the repetitiveness of the lyrics. Draiman surely could have been more creative, right? Land of Confusion is a Genesis cover song that sticks close to the original, albeit with the modern guitar tone of Disturbed. Forgiven, Sacred Lie, Pain Redefined, and Decadence are also great to solid tracks that continue with the sound of Disturbed. Ten Thousand Fists closes with the epic Avarice, with its great drum work and powerful vocals that for some reason reminds me of the video game God of War or the movie 300. Too bad this song is a tad too short. It would have been great had it been longer. Thus, here is a review perhaps tainted by fanboy nostalgia, however, Ten Thousand Fists by Disturbed is one of their best albums. The instrumentation and vocals are very solid. Draiman does little of those animal noises that tainted his legacy. Disturbed had lots of potential after this release, but appeared to have stagnated a little. It is recommended for those who enjoy straight-forward hard rock or metal and is an enjoyable listen.

Genre: Hard Rock, Metal
Country: USA
Label: Reprise Records
Release: September 20, 2005

1. Ten Thousand Fists
2. Just Stop
3. Guarded
4. Deify
5. Stricken
6. I’m Alive
7. Sons of Plunder
8. Overburdened
9. Decadence
10. Forgiven
11. Land of Confusion
12. Sacred Lie
13. Pain Redefined
14. Avarice

Review By:





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *