Disturbed – The Lost Children

Soon after the touring cycle for Disturbed’s Asylum album in 2010 finished, the band decided to go on an indefinite hiatus. In 2011, Disturbed released The Lost Children, which is a collection of b-sides and other songs not seen on any of their other full-length albums. It does not mean that these songs are inferior to those that made it onto their respective albums—the contrary should actually be argued as many of the songs on The Lost Children are among Disturbed’s best. There is a good distribution among songs from each album’s recording session: two from The Sickness era, one from Believe, four from Ten Thousand Fists, two from Indestructible, four from Asylum, along with a few covers. This collection of songs begins with Hell, which is among Disturbed best and most aggressive songs. It features the trademark syncopated vocals by David Draiman, great guitar riffs by Dan Donegan, and good drumming by Mike Wengren. I find the songs that were recorded during the Ten Thousand Fists sessions to be the better tracks on this album, particularly Hell, Monster, and Sickened. These songs are heavier than the songs that made it onto that album, but this is the era when Disturbed had the best balance between melody and heaviness. Dehumanized was recorded during the Believe sessions. This is a very good melodic song, although a bit repetitive lyrically. The two songs from The Sickness era are quite catchy, but the simplicity of the music is apparent when compared to the style of the other songs, yet they have managed to hold well with time. This Moment was recorded for a Transformers movie soundtrack, and is my among my least favorite Disturbed songs—it just has nothing going for it, other than repetition and bland lyrics. Mine is an interesting song in that it has a different song structure than every other Disturbed song and it makes great use of news samples citing excessive corporate influence in politics. The song 3 is interesting, not so much for its lyrics, but for the guitar style. In this song there is a bit of a math metal feel, which sees Donegan play in a different style for once. The album ends with two covers—Faith No More’s Midlife Crisis and Judas Priest’s Living After Midnight—which are very faithful to the originals, where Disturbed has made little attempt to make them their own. Most of the tracks on this album are pretty solid, but they sound like nearly most other Disturbed songs, with the same predictable song structure, Draiman’s vocal style, Donegan’s similar guitar style, great drumming by Wengren, and good bass by John Moyer and Steve “Fuzz” Kmak. The Lost Children is a definite listen for Disturbed fans. For non-Disturbed fans, it is a good place to find some of the better Disturbed songs or more of the same dependent on the strength of prior opinions. This album and Disturbed in general, provide a great listen for straight-forward hard rock or metal.

Genre: Hard Rock, Metal
Country: USA
Label: Reprise Records
Release: November 8, 2011

1. Hell
2. A Welcome Burden
3. This Moment
4. Old Friend
5. Monster
6. Run.
7. Leave It Alone
8. Two Worlds
9. God Of The Mind
10. Sickened
11. Mine
12. Parasite
13. Dehumanized
14. 3
15. Midlife Crisis
16. Living After Midnight

Review By:





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *