Eluveitie – Origins

Switzerland’s folk-metallers Eluveitie have returned with another album under the Nuclear Blast record label. Origins continue with the folk metal with a strong Swedish melodic death metal foundation that Eluveitie has refined over the course of their careers. There is a running joke that bands on the Nuclear Blast label decline to mediocrity upon their signing. Although, I would disagree that Eluveitie’s music is mediocre, but they have strayed little from their formula over the course of the past few albums. Origins is a mighty fine album, but it is not much different than the ones that came prior, so the subtle differences will define individual taste. Origins opens off with the amazing spoken words of the Scottish Alexander Morton and his marvelous accent, as the song builds with hurdy gurdy, guitar and drums. The Nameless opens with double-bass drums as hurdy gurdy, violins, guitars and the screams of vocalist Chrigel Glanzmann take hold and form the general sound of Origins, and the band. Keyboard atmosphere adds an epic feeling on top of all this. Eluveitie has consistently found a good balance between folk instrumentation and melodic death metal. From Darkness, for example, has relentless use of flutes mixed with melodic death metal. Celtos has more of an emphasis on folk elements, with layers of rock and metal lying beneath, and Anne Murphy taking predominance on vocals with screams in the background. The Call of the Mountains, as well as Vianna, also emphasis Murphy’s vocals and this song has a bit more of a poppy folk rock attitude to it. Songs, such as Inception with its screeching screams, counteract these softer songs with more intensive metal. Sucellos starts off with some nice double bass drums, but then leads into an interesting folk section with group chanting. The single King gives a pretty good representation of the core sound of the album, which also happens to be the core sound of that last several albums. Finally, Origins ends with Eternity with more narration from Alexander Morton as the album fades out with folk instrumentation. Origins is another high-quality album from Eluveitie. They continue with their proven folk metal sound, although it would be refreshing if they tried something different from time to time. Origins is still a good album that should please Eluveitie fans, as well as folk-metal aficionados, but do not expect something radically different.

Genre: Folk Metal, Melodic Death Metal
Country: Switzerland
Label: Nuclear Blast
Release: August 1, 2014

1. Origins
2. The Nameless
3. From Darkness
4. Celtos
5. Virunus
6. Nothing
7. The Call Of The Mountains
8. Sucellos
9. Inception
10. Vianna
11. The Silver Sister
12. King
13. The Day Of Strife
14. Ogmios
15. Carry The Torch
16. Eternity

Review By:





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *