Green Velvet – Unshakable

Here we go with a review I’ve been holding off on. Curtis Alan Jones, also known as Green Velvet, is a electronic house artist from Chicago Illinois. His album, Unshakable, release in 2013, is my first foray into the world of electronic house music, and let me just say it is interesting. I do not understand the appeal of this type of music: repetitive beats and electronics with sampled vocals taken from various media, some of it being original. Obviously, I am going at this with my bias, but I am saying that I have listened to this album on many occasions and this is my opinion. I do hope that the electronic music scene fans do understand this is my opinion only, and please do not bash me for stating why I do not like this. First off, the reason I am even listening to this album in the first place is because of the cover. I had seen this cover in the store and thought to myself, “Maybe there is something I am missing out on, maybe this guy is a genius and I just do not know.”. However, I would never know without checking it out, and so I did. Unshakable is Green Velvet’s 7th Full length album, and actually is a collaborative effort with many other up and coming artists who contribute to each track. Having good intentions of helping these artists, I do give props to Jones’ efforts. However, I just cannot understand this music. This music is soul-less. It has no depth whatsoever, no meaning, nothing. The album consists of lifeless beats, meaningless lyrics, and no vibrancy. However, I am not all negatives as I am looking to find some good to this album, which is why I would waste my time posting it to Sol Mortuus. Anyways, this album has 11 tracks of acid dropping lifelessness, which is probably the only reason you would listen to this. The tracks are bland, boring, and uninspired. Robots opens the album with what would seem like a fun track, but shortly delves into mediocrity, with very little talent or innovation. Don’t get me wrong, the song is catchy, but anything can become catchy if listened to repeatedly over and over, and expecially if the beat that is played throughout the entire song is heard through the first 2 measures. Of course, other electronics sporadically appear throughout, but they do not do anything for it. The lyrics are weak, with Jones’ speaking like he is a human who was raised by robots, but is misunderstood. Other songs follow this same setup, such as Dance To My Beat, which has a continuous beat throughout the song that never changes, which flows nowhere, while the vocalist says “Dance to My Beat” every couple of measures. The song minimizes the beat sometimes and adds some more crazy, out of this world electronic sounds, but they just do not stand up to music that actually requires talent. Move Your Body has one of the better “melodies” in which the electronics are pretty cool sounding, but again it falls into repetitiveness and dies out quickly. This electronic shit is just not my thing, I am sorry. If the “Artist” is only required to stand at a laptop, and click on things, as well as occasionally move records around or change sound levels, that is not art. That is simply following a set of commands. However, if you are into lifeless, robotic repetitiveness of the electronic music scene, I do think you would enjoy this. However, for those looking for music with depth, variation, and something that would actually require the members of the group to do things on stage,  I would recommend running as far away from this as possible.

Genre: Electronic, House
Label: Relief Records
Location: Chicago, Illinois, United States
Release: October 28th, 2013


1. Robots
2. Stronger
3. Dance To My Beat
4. Move Your Body
5. Leave Your Body (Sonny Fodera Remix)
6. Unstoppable
7. In Your Spirit
8. Paradise
9. Sinkhole
10. Minitaka
11. On The Inside (Feat. Juliet Foxx)
12. Check U Out
13. Free Yourself

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *