InMune – Ilumíname

InMune is an alternative metal/hard rock band from Spain consisting of Morti on vocals, Paulo Morete on guitars, David Segado on bass, and Carlos Dogliani on drums. InMune is a refreshing band in Spain’s rock and metal scene, which has plenty of folk and power metal, and a strong “indie” scene. I am not familiar with much of the band member’s previous work with the exception of Morti, who was the vocalist of the very strong hard rock/metal band Skizoo, the grungy Fantástico Hombre Bala, and a solid solo project. While listening to InMune, it is difficult not to make comparisons with Skizoo, since this is the “heaviest” band Morti has been a part of since, but the two bands are quite different. Ilumíname is not a heavy album, but it is a very solid rock album with great instrumentation and excellent vocals by Morti. Caes, Caes, Caes starts the core of the album with a rocky song with an old-school metal feel. Bucle Mental is my favorite track on this album, in particular for the metal section in the second half. I would have liked if the album had more elements of this. This is the standout track that has a slight middle-eastern feel, a nice guitar solo, and a headbanging-catchiness to it. El Tiempo No Existe is actually based on a song from Morti’s solo project that was never released. This version is very rocky and catchy. The rest of the album is generally slower rock music with guitars that have plenty of distortion. The music, as well as Morti’s lyrics and vocals, give the album a very positive and hopeful mood. Ilumíname is a solid debut by InMune. The music has a bit of variety, although they should explore their heavier side in the future, because when they do, they seem to excel. However, InMune does manage to find a balance between heavy and, perhaps, pop-rock sensibility, as if it is not allowing itself to be constrained within the confines of a particular genre, giving it a refreshing sound. Ilumíname is a great album for those looking for some straight-forward Spanish hard rock or metal. InMune only shows more promise for the future.

Genre: Alternative Metal, Hard Rock
Country: Spain
Label: Gran Sol
Release: November 6, 2013

1. Intro
2. Caes, Caes, Caes
3. Bucle Mental
4. El Tiempo No Existe
5. Levitar
6. Ilumíname
7. Tal Vez No
8. Todo Cambia
9. Llueve
10. Aunque Me Quedara Ciego
11. Dejarme Vencer
12. Tú
13. Outra

Review By:




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *