Jääportit – Voimasuo


Jääportit is a one-man ambient electronic project by Finland’s Tuomas M. Mäkelä. His most recent album Voimasuo takes you into icy crystalline worlds with synthesizers, violins, and other instruments. There is a bit of a psychedelic feel to the music, much like what one would expect if Pink Floyd set out to make icy electronic music—Ice Floyd, perhaps? Voimasuo opens with the ambiance of Tuulten Tuoja, which sets up the frozen atmosphere of the album before psychedelic electronic rhythms, accompanied by violins and drums pick up the tempo slightly. Suon Sulaessa has that subtle funky Pink Floyd-ish guitar and bass lines hiding under the layers of dark synthesizers. Hengenvaara is a groovy track with prominent bass lines as electronic female vocals speak in Finnish throughout much of the song. Sudenkuoppa has more of a metal feel with dark ambient guitars piercing the icy electronics. Finally, the album closes with a similar style on Katoaminen Tornissa, again with groovy bass, ambient metal guitars. In many ways, this song feels like a stripped down Orannsi Pazuzu song—also fellow Finns. Jääportit’s Voimasuo is a solid dark ambient album and one that should appeal to those who like icy music. It has a significant psychedelic feel to it that augments the atmosphere. This may not be an incredibly amazing album, but it is a pretty good ambient album with some darker and—a much overused phrase—icier atmospheres.

Genre: Dark Ambient, Electronic, Instrumental
Country: Finland
Label: Epidemie Records
Release: May 12, 2009

1 – Tuulten Tuoja
2 – Arvoitusten Luona
3 – Suon Sulaessa
4 – Hengenvaara
5 – Sudenkuoppa
6 – Muuntuva Suoja
7 – Katoaminen Tornissa

Review By:





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *