My Brother the Wind – I Wash My Soul in the Stream of Infinity

My Brother the Wind is an improvisational band from Sweden consisting of members from Anekdoten’s Nicklas Barker, Makajodama’s Mathias Danielsson, and Magnolia’s Ronny Eriksson and Tomas Eriksson. I was impressed with their debut album Twilight in the Crystal Cabinet and surprised that such music could be improvised with such quality. Their second album I Wash My Soul in the Stream of Infinity proves that was not a fluke. This album continues with the improvised psychedelic progressive rock of its predecessor. The album opens with Fire! Fire!! This song slowly builds up with guitar pedal effects as a combination of psychedelic groovy bass and drums take the listener away. This song has an electrical ambiance to it. Pagan Moonbeam is a shorter, mystical song augmented by the eastern melodies of synthesizers. The Mediator Between Head And Hands Must Be The Heart sounds like a confused King Crimson song; it shares a similar keyboard sound and effects of that classic band. Much of the album is quite mellow, but with a psychedelic attitude. Under Crimson Skies begins with groovy guitars and bass that get a little funky before the song slows to a more meditative pace continuing into the closing title track. My Brother the Wind has crafted another high-quality, very relaxing and remarkably well-improvised album with I Wash My Soul in the Stream of Infinity. This should appeal to fans of instrumental music, especially those seeking a vintage 70s atmosphere, but with a modern sound.

Genre: Progressive Rock, Instrumental, Improvisation
Country: Sweden
Label: Transubstans Records
Release: November 2, 2011

1 Fire! Fire!!
2 Pagan Moonbeam
3 The Mediator Between Head And Hands Must Be The Heart
4 Torbjörn Abelli
5 Under Crimson Skies
6 I Wash My Soul In The Stream Of Infinity

Review By:





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *