Omar Rodriguez Lopez – Saber, Querer, Osar y Callar

Astoundingly, Saber, Querer, Osar y Callar is Omar Rodriguez Lopez’s twenty-first solo album in just eight years. While not working on The Mars Volta, or any other of his many projects, he tends to put out several solo works a year. Lately, Rodriguez Lopez has been exploring an electronic direction, which is what Saber, Querer, Osar y Callar does. He writes all of the music, but is accompanied by Deantoni Parks on drums. The opening track Home Lost represents the core sound of this album: electronics, mysterious atmosphere, ethereal vocals, and some nice drums by Park that provide additional feeling to the electronics. All of Rodriguez Lopez’s vocals are filtered through various effects, which add to the atmosphere and really augment the appeal of the album. Gentle Umbrellas is a slow, yet playful track that has an eerie child-like feeling to it. Spellbound is a more active track with rhythmic drums and a slight tropical feel. Tentaculos is actually an alternate version of Agua Dulce de Pulpo from Omar Rodriguez Lopez’s dub-influenced Un Escorpión Perfumado album, but this time slows it down tremendously and additional vocal effects. Decided? is another great track with a strong sense of indecision and subtle guitars in the background. Saber, Querer, Osar y Callar is among Omar Rodriguez Lopez’s better solo albums, which vary greatly in quality. Electronic music often lacks feeling, but this album manages to convey numerous emotions. The vocal effects are well-utilized and Deantoni Parks’ drums add more organic nature to the music. This album is good beginning to end. This is a great album for fans of Omar Rodriguez Lopez, or any of his projects, and for those seeking some nice electronic music that does not necessarily feel electronic.

Genre: Electronic, Experimental
Country: USA
Label: Rodriguez Lopez Productions
Release: June 20, 2012

1 – Home Lost
2 – Habits
3 – Gentle Umbrellas
4 – Spellbound
5 – Fear Eats The Soul
6 – Better to Hang a Dead Husband Than to Lose a Living Lover
7 – Tentaculos
8 – Decided
9 – Compartir (Sharing a Bus)
10 – Angel Hair

Review By:





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *